THE NAVIDSONS

THE NAVIDSONS consists of Till Wyler von Ballmoos (stage director), Ole Hübner (composition), Tassilo Tesche (scenography), Maxine Devaud (production management) and additional collaborators.

The group develops music theatre at the interface of performance, opera and art installation with methods of collaborative authorship. Their artistic work focuses on experiments with new spatial concepts of music theatre and forms of open dramaturgy. The driving force behind their productions is the search for new processes of project development aiming for a musical and performative staging of fragile moments of dissolving and transformation.

Their practical work pursues the idea of creating “topographies of states” by means of live choreographies with musicians, singers, dancers and other performers. The audience is invited to reflect in a aisthetic experience on categories such as fiction, unpredictability, personal history and strategies of longings. The borders between staging and improvisation, creation and deconstruction, between visual media, music and architectural space are explored in projects such as  THE NAVIDSON RECORDS (Münchener Biennale, Festival für Neues Musiktheater / KonzertTheaterBern).

THE NAVIDSONS were invited to present their work in an OPEN-WORKSTATION at OPERADAGEN 2018 in Rotterdam.

 

BIOGRAPHIES ARTISTIC TEAM

Till Wyler von Ballmoos 
born in Bern, Switzerland. His work revolves around the interplay between audience and live music and sound. The choreography of unstable events in performances and narrations of paradox situations are the focuses of his artistic research.
Till Wyler von Ballmoos studied music theatre at the University of Music and Theatre in Munich, Germany, from 2006 to 2011, and classical cello at the University of Arts in Bern, Switzerland, from 1990 to 2004. Since 2000, Till Wyler von Ballmoos has been working in theatre, music, flm and new music theatre. He develops theme-related music performance projects in the independent theatre and music theatre scene. His critically acclaimed opera production “The Navidson Records” was premiered at Münchener Biennale as an opera drawing on elements of both art installation and music theatre. At the Opera Stuttgart he created “Make Room – Take up Space”, a performance with the public in public space. At the Biennale Bern he created and directed the performative installation “Carrillo_N13¿”. He was awarded a residency fellowship of Akademie Schloss Solitude, Künstlerhaus Schloss Balmoral and Pro Helvetia India. He has received several awards including Best Director at the Bavarian Theatre Festival in Bamberg, Germany, for “Der Tod und das Mädchen – Ein Wiederhall”.

Tassilo Tesche 
born in Munich, Germany, studied scenography at Accademia di Belle Arti in Venice, Italy, and joined the directing class at the School of Dramatic Arts “Ernst Busch” whilst studying German literature and philosophy at the FU Berlin. In 2001 he graduated in architecture at the University of the Arts in Berlin with architect Benedict Tonon and artist Katarina Sieverding. As an architect he worked in the design team with Daniel Libeskind, Arn Meijs Architects and F101 Architekten Berlin. His site- specifc video installations were part of different exhibitions such as Weisse Nacht Kiel, nomad at the CAN Neuchatel or the Villa Romana Florence, where he held a residency in 2005. Up to today he has created, as a stage and costume designer, more than 40 projects at theatres in Germany, Austria, Switzerland and Italy. He has held several guest professorships, e.g. at the HKB Bern, the Università iuav Venice and the Institute of Applied Theatre Studies, Justus Liebig University, in Giessen, Germany. In his recent work, he focusses on the development of concepts in teams with directors, writers and composers. From these polyvalent collaborations, several stage designs emerged with directors such as Christoph Schlingensief, Ludger Engels, Florentine Klepper (et al.) and various works as a co-author, co-director and video artist with Franziska Henschel, Liz Rech, Leo Dick (et al.). Many of his theatre works are site- specifc interventions in public spaces or re-organize conventional theatre situations.

Ole Hübner 
born in Bremerhaven, Germany, studied composition in Hanover (with Benjamin Lang and Joachim Heintz, 2007-2010) and Cologne (with Johannes Schöllhorn and Michael Beil, 2011-2015). Following this, he has been attending the master program at the Institute of Applied Theatre Studies in Giessen, Germany (with Heiner Goebbels and others, since 2015). He often acts in the felds of music theatre, music for theatre, and audio theatre. Topics such as the conception and manipulation of realities; strategies of the imparting and experiencing of “authenticity”; remembrance, reproduction, and repetition as artistic methods and incentives; narration and narrativity; the situational; the absent; the detection and elaboration of both theatrical aspects in music and musical aspects in theatre are examined critically, and dealt with, in both his theatrological and artistic work. At this, the enrichment and reassessment of techniques and knowledge of contemporary music through theatrological perspectives has increasingly played an important role. The collaboration with artists of other disciplines such as acting, mise-en-scène, dance, dramaturgy, and scenography has meanwhile naturally taken up much space in his work and resulted in music theatre productions at Theater Aachen (2013), Deutsche Oper Berlin (2015/16), Konzert Theater Bern (2016), Münchener Biennale (2016), and La Biennale di Venezia (2017). However, Ole Hübner feels committed to concert music as well, and so his composition have been performed at renowned music festivals and in countries such as Germany, Austria, Switzerland, Poland, Italy, Denmark, Japan, Israel, Singapore and Canada.

Maxine Devaud
grew up in Fribourg, Switzerland. After studying photography for two years at the École Cantonale d’Art de Lausanne, she studied musicology and art history at the University of Basel. The violin has accompanied Maxine Devaud almost her entire life, and as a violinist she was a member of the Swiss Youth Symphony Orchestra for many years. From 2014 to 2017, she has been an assistant director working on music theatre and theatre productions. She has worked with directors such as Calixto Bieito, Christian Zehnder, Ludger Engels and Markus Bothe on successful productions at Opernhaus Zürich, Theater Basel and Konzert Theater Bern. Maxine Devaud is currently working in Germany and Switzerland as a theater producer for different companies (Novoflot, The Navidsons, fonundtsu* Theaterproduktion, Ensemble Aabat). She is a resident fellow of Opera Europe.

Scroll Up

THE NAVIDSONS

THE NAVIDSONS besteht aus Till Wyler von Ballmoos (Regie), Ole Hübner (Komposition), Tassilo Tesche (Szenografie), Maxine Devaud (Produktionsleitung) und weiteren Akteur_innen.

In kollaborativer Autorschaft entwickelt die Gruppe Musiktheater an der Schnittstelle von Performance, Oper und Kunstinstallation. Ihre künstlerische Arbeit konzentriert sich auf Experimente mit neuen Raumkonzepten von Musiktheaters und Formen der offenen Dramaturgie. Die Suche nach neuen Prozessen der Projektentwicklung mit dem Ziel einer musikalisch – performativen Inszenierung fragiler Momenten von Auflösung und Transformation sind Triebkräfte ihre Produktionen.

Ihre praktische Arbeit verfolgt die Idee, durch Live-Choreographien mit Musiker_innen, Sänger_innen, Tänzer_innen und weiteren Performer_innen „Topographien von Zuständen“ zu schaffen. Das Publikum ist eingeladen, in einer aisthetischen Erfahrung über Kategorien wie Fiktion, Unvorhersehbarkeit, persönliche Geschichte und Sehnsucht nachzudenken. Die Grenzen zwischen Inszenierung und Improvisation, Kreation und Dekonstruktion, zwischen visuellen Medien, Musik und architektonischem Raum werden in Projekten wie u.a. THE NAVIDSON RECORDS (Münchener Biennale für zeitgenössisches Musiktheater / Konzert Theater Bern) ausgelotet.

THE NAVIDSONS waren eingeladen ihre Arbeit mit einer OPEN-WORKSTATION an den Operadagen 2018 in Rotterdam zu präsentieren.

 

BIOGRAPHIEN

Till Wyler von Ballmoos 
Geboren in Bern, Schweiz. Die Choreographie instabiler Ereignisse in Performances und die Erzählung paradoxer Situationen stehen im Mittelpunkt seiner künstlerischen Forschung. Till Wyler von Ballmoos studierte von 2006 bis 2011 Musiktheater an der Hochschule für Musik und Theater München und von 1990 bis 2004 klassisches Cello an der Hochschule der Künste Bern. Seit 2000 arbeitet Till Wyler von Ballmoos in den Bereichen Theater, Musik, Film und Neues Musiktheater. Er entwickelt themenbezogene Musik-Performance-Projekte in der freien Theater- und Musiktheaterszene. Seine von der Kritik gelobte Musiktheaterproduktion „The Navidson Records“ hatte Premiere an der Münchener Biennale 2016. An der Oper Stuttgart kreierte er „Make Room – Take up Space“, eine Performance mit dem Publikum im öffentlichen Raum. Auf der Biennale Bern kreierte und inszenierte er die performative Installation „Carrillo_N13¿“. Er ist Stipendiat der Akademie Schloss Solitude, des Künstlerhauses Schloss Balmoral und von Pro Helvetia India. Für „Der Tod und das Mädchen – Ein Wiederhall“ wurde er mehrfach ausgezeichnet, unter anderem als bester Regisseur beim Bayerischen Theaterfestival in Bamberg.

Tassilo Tesche 
Geboren in München, studierte Szenografie an der Accademia di Belle Arti in Venedig, Italien, und trat in die Regieklasse der Hochschule für Schauspielkunst „Ernst Busch“ ein, während er Germanistik und Philosophie an der FU Berlin studierte. 2001 schloss er sein Architekturstudium an der Universität der Künste in Berlin mit dem Architekten Benedict Tonon und der Künstlerin Katarina Sieverding ab. Als Architekt arbeitete er im Designteam mit Daniel Libeskind, Arn Meijs Architects und F101 Architekten Berlin. Seine ortsspezifischen Videoinstallationen waren Teil verschiedener Ausstellungen wie die Weisse Nacht Kiel, Nomade im CAN Neuchatel oder die Villa Romana Florenz, in der er 2005 eine Residenz hatte. Bis heute hat er als Bühnen- und Kostümbildner mehr als 40 Projekte an Theatern in Deutschland, Österreich, der Schweiz und Italien realisiert. Er hatte mehrere Gastprofessuren inne, u.a. an der HKB Bern, der Università iuav Venedig und dem Institut für Angewandte Theaterwissenschaft der Justus-Liebig-Universität Gießen. In seiner jüngsten Arbeit konzentriert er sich auf die Entwicklung von Konzepten in Teams mit Regisseuren, Autoren und Komponisten. Aus diesen vielschichtigen Kooperationen entstanden mehrere Bühnenbilder mit Regisseuren wie Christoph Schlingensief, Ludger Engels, Florentine Klepper (u.a.) und verschiedene Arbeiten als Co-Autor, Co-Regisseur und Videokünstler mit Franziska Henschel, Liz Rech, Leo Dick (u.a.). Viele seiner Theaterarbeiten sind ortsspezifische Interventionen im öffentlichen Raum oder ordnen konventionelle Theatersituationen neu.

Ole Hübner 
Geboren in Bremerhaven, Deutschland, studierte Komposition in Hannover (bei Benjamin Lang und Joachim Heintz, 2007-2010) und Köln (bei Johannes Schöllhorn und Michael Beil, 2011-2015). Im Anschluss daran absolvierte er das Masterstudium am Institut für Angewandte Theaterwissenschaft in Gießen (u.a. bei Heiner Goebbels seit 2015). Er ist häufig in den Bereichen Musiktheater, Musiktheater, Theatermusik und Hörspiel tätig. Themen wie die Konzeption und Manipulation von Realitäten; Strategien der Vermittlung und des Erlebens von „Authentizität“; Erinnerung, Reproduktion und Wiederholung als künstlerische Methoden und Anreize; Narration und Narrativität; Das Situative, das Abwesende, das Erkennen und Ausarbeiten sowohl von theatralischen Aspekten in der Musik als auch von musikalischen Aspekten im Theater werden sowohl in seiner theatrologischen als auch in seiner künstlerischen Arbeit kritisch hinterfragt und behandelt. Dabei spielt die Bereicherung und Neubewertung von Techniken und Kenntnissen der zeitgenössischen Musik durch theatrologische Perspektiven eine immer wichtigere Rolle. Die Zusammenarbeit mit Künstler*innen anderer Disziplinen wie Schauspiel, Inszenierung, Tanz, Dramaturgie und Szenografie hat inzwischen viel Raum in seiner Arbeit eingenommen und führte zu Musiktheaterproduktionen am Theater Aachen (2013), an der Deutschen Oper Berlin (2015/16), am Konzert Theater Bern (2016), an der Münchener Biennale (2016) und an der Biennale di Venezia (2017). Ole Hübner fühlt sich aber auch der Konzertmusik verpflichtet, und so wurde seine Komposition auf renommierten Musikfestivals und in Ländern wie Deutschland, Österreich, Schweiz, Polen, Italien, Dänemark, Japan, Israel, Singapur und Kanada aufgeführt.

Maxine Devaud
Sie wuchs in Fribourg, Schweiz, auf. Nach einem zweijährigen Studium der Fotografie an der École Cantonale d’Art de Lausanne studierte sie Musikwissenschaft und Kunstgeschichte an der Universität Basel. Die Violine hat Maxine Devaud fast ihr ganzes Leben lang begleitet, und als Geigerin war sie viele Jahre lang Mitglied des Schweizerischen Jugendsinfonieorchesters. Von 2014 bis 2017 arbeitete sie als Regieassistentin an Musiktheater- und Theaterproduktionen. Sie arbeitete mit Regisseuren wie Calixto Bieito, Christian Zehnder, Ludger Engels und Markus Bothe an erfolgreichen Produktionen am Opernhaus Zürich, Theater Basel und Konzert Theater Bern. Maxine Devaud arbeitet derzeit in Deutschland und der Schweiz als Theaterproduzentin für verschiedene Firmen (Novoflot, THE NAVIDSONS, fonundtsu* Theaterproduktion, Ensemble Aabat). Sie ist Stipendiatin von Opera Europe.

Scroll Up