Life – an instruction manual? – The Wayback Machine

An artistic research project based on the novel “La vie mode d’emploi (1978) by Georges Perec

Memories Stories
Already, the crisis triggered by the pandemic in many areas of society has burned itself into our collective memory with metaphors, instagram stories, sounds and new technologies. Against this current social background, the research project is concerned with the investigation of individual patterns of perception of historical events, collective memories and narratives of personally experienced moments of tipping over. We are interested in how historical facts become an individual reality and what creative, subversive and poetic potential is revealed in shifts resulting from the multiple repetition of narratives:
How do memories ultimately develop into narratives and “who speaks” in them?
Can new insights be gained by linking events and narratives?
Can we develop impulses for a critical different way of thinking about collective memories of society as a whole by exploring our own narratives?

From remembering to rethinking
The starting point of the research project is artistic research on a specific date, starting from a historical event that has triggered a turning point in the biography of one of the six collective members. The primary source for this is the systematic questioning of the environment. In addition, we make use of archives with eyewitness accounts, sound and image recordings and the estate of G. Perec. For an online research we use the wayback machine of the internet. An example of an anniversary is January 28th: In 1986 the Challenger accident happened in front of running cameras – the invention of the term ‘serendipity’ (1754) falls on the same anniversary. It is also the principle of serendipity – making a chance discovery in search of something completely different – which will inevitably be the theme of the research for this date. Other starting dates would be: 26 April (1986), 9 March (2000), 27 June (2000), 17 December (2010) and 23 June (2016). The resulting collection of personal stories will lead to a new archive of memories.

In the novel “La vie mode d’emploi”, analogous to our data examined over the years, a Parisian apartment building is described in which various tenants work under one roof. In the course of the 99 chapters, the traces of an art project, which in the end was to leave no trace behind, cross over from room to room. We venture an experiment and start research work in six different cities under the roof of the collective The Navidsons. In a further step of the research, we will subject our archives to a collective, creative process of ‘recollection’ by means of a postal exchange of letters, which combines rewriting, rewriting, overwriting, chain letter compositions as well as images, comments etc. The aim is to recreate the cross-relationships and the ‘in-between’ of our data and knowledge in an installative music theatre performance out of this network as a multi-sensorially materialised and accessible space of experience: A trans-historical journey through time, an event score, an atlas of our network.

Concept: Maxine Devaud, Maria Huber, Ole Hübner, Michael Taylor, Tassilo Tesche, Till Wyler von Ballmoos

Scroll Up

Leben – eine Gebrauchsanweisung? – The Wayback Machine

Ein künstlerisches Rechercheprojekt ausgehend vom Roman „La vie mode d’emploi“ (1978) von Georges Perec

Erinnerungen Erzählungen
Schon jetzt hat sich die durch die Pandemie in vielen Gesellschaftsbereichen ausgelöste Krise mit Metaphern, Instagram-Stories, Klängen und neuen Technologien in unser kollektives Gedächtnis eingebrannt. Vor diesem aktuellen gesellschaftlichen Hintergrund beschäftigt sich das Recherchevorhaben mit der Untersuchung individueller Wahrnehmungsmuster von historischen Ereignissen, kollektiven Erinnerungen und Erzählungen persönlich erlebter Kippmomente. Uns interessiert, wie aus historischen Fakten eine individuelle Realität wird und welches kreative, subversive und poetische Potenzial sich in Verschiebungen zeigt, die sich durch die mehrfache Wiederholung von Erzählungen ergeben:
Wie entwickeln sich aus Erinnerungen schließlich Erzählungen und „wer spricht“ in diesen?
Lassen sich durch Verknüpfungen der Ereignisse und Erzählungen neue Erkenntnisse gewinnen?
Können wir durch die Erforschung unserer eigenen Erzählungen Impulse für ein kritisches Anders-Denken von kollektiven gesamtgesellschaftlichen Erinnerungen entwickeln?

Vom Erinnern zum Neu-Denken
Ausgangspunkt des Rechercheprojekts ist die künstlerische Forschung zu einem bestimmten Datum, ausgehend von einem historischen Ereignis, das einen Wendepunkt in der Biographie jeweils eines*r der sechs Kollektivmitglieder ausgelöst hat. Primäre Quelle dafür ist die systematische Befragung des Umfelds, ergänzend dazu bedienen wir uns Archiven mit Augenzeugenberichten, Ton- und Bildaufnahmen und dem Nachlass von G. Perec. Für eine Online-Recherche wird die Wayback-Machine des Internets genutzt. Beispielhaft für einen Jahrestag sei hier der 28. Januar angeführt: 1986 ereignete sich das Challenger-Unglück vor laufenden Kameras – auf denselben Jahrestag fällt die Erfindung des Begriffs der ‚Serendipität‘ (1754). Das Serendipitätsprinzip – das Machen einer zufälligen Entdeckung auf der Suche nach etwas ganz anderem – ist es auch, das sich zwangsläufig durch die Recherche zu diesem Datum ziehen wird. Weitere Ausgangsdaten wären: 26. April (1986), 9. März (2000), 27. Juni (2000), 17. Dezember (2010) und 23. Juni (2016). Die daraus entstandene Sammlung persönlicher Erzählungen führen zu einem neuen Archiv aus Erinnerungen.

Im Roman „La vie mode d’emploi“ wird, analog zu unseren durch die Jahre hinweg untersuchten Daten, ein Pariser Mietshaus beschrieben, in dem verschiedene Mieter unter einem Dach arbeiten. Im Laufe der 99 Kapitel überkreuzen sich von Raum zu Raum die Spuren eines Kunstprojekts, das am Ende keine Spur mehr hinterlassen sollte. Wir wagen ein Experiment und starten die Recherchearbeit in sechs verschieden Städten unter dem Dach des Kollektivs The Navidsons. In einem weiteren Schritt der Recherche unterziehen wir unsere Archive einem kollektiven, kreativen Prozess der ‚Wiedererinnerung‘ mittels eines postalischen Briefwechsels, der sowohl Um- und Neuschreibungen, Überschreibungen, Kettenbriefkompositionen als auch Bilder, Kommentare etc. miteinander verbindet. Ziel ist, in einer installativen Musiktheaterperformance aus diesem Netzwerk heraus die Querbeziehungen und das ‚Dazwischen‘ unserer Daten und Erkenntnisse als multisensuell materialisierten und betretbaren Erlebnisraum neu zu erschaffen: Eine trans-historische Zeitreise, eine Ereignispartitur, ein Atlas unseres Netzwerks.

Konzept: Maxine Devaud, Maria Huber, Ole Hübner, Michael Taylor, Tassilo Tesche, Till Wyler von Ballmoos

Scroll Up